RSS

Perfect Quotes – a WordPress plugin

05 Jun

development_bannerRecently a family member asked me to help set up a WordPress site so they could start blogging and share with the world their thoughts about life. One of the things requested was a plugin that would allow them to put a quote they liked onto the sidebar. It seemed like a simple enough request. So I headed off to wordpress.org to look at their vast plugin library.

What started out as a simple plugin request, turned out to be somewhat of a disheartening dead end. Don’t get me wrong; there are tons of quote plugins out there. I just wasn’t able to find anything that was simple and straight forward.

Most of the plugins pulled quotes from external websites and displayed random quotes. Others were poorly written and confusing to implement, much less use. Here is what I wanted: to enter whatever quote I want, to add an author or source of the quote, and to show that quote where I want, when I want, and how I want. And then I had a thought, “I’ll just make it myself!”. And Perfect Quotes was born. continue reading

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 5, 2015 in Quotes

 

Leave a Reply

 
